5 Months At Smokey House

At first I didn’t want to come here.  My mom told me it was here, or nothing.  So I came here, and at first I didn’t like it.  Then I liked it because it was different from regular school.  How?  Everything! Instead of sitting in a classroom, getting frustrated and bored and sleepy and fidgety, I am being active in the garden and around the pond and in the woods, learning about stuff as we do it, not just listening.

Some of the things I like here are being in the woods, noticing stuff happen, hands-on learning, a lot of being physical instead of sitting and watching.  Some of the things I’ve studied are about the plants and bugs in the garden, tree identification, about macro-invertebrates, tapping maple trees, baking bread, and woodcrafts.  You’re learning as you’re doing it.  You stop and talk about why certain things do this and other things do that, for example, how beavers build their dams and how they affect roadways and fields.

There’s nothing I dislike about this place.  I plan to stay here for future years.

Pond view IMG_8436

Leave a Reply

