tomato sauce at smokey house

IMG_1583We were harvesting stuff in the garden, and decided we had too many tomatoes.  Juanita and I didn’t want our tomatoes to rot, so we cooked them down to make sauce.  First I cut up garlic.  Then I cut up onion and put it in the pan with olive oil.  Then I cut up the tomatoes, big red tomatoes and little cherry tomatoes.  Then we put it on high heat, smashed them down in the pot, and cooked it until it boiled and turned to mushy sauce.  Then without Juanita looking, as a prank, I put in part of a hot cayenne pepper. It would have been funny to get the tastebuds tingling. I knew I wasn’t putting enough in to wreck it.   I was surprised that Juanita could taste it, because I didn’t put in a lot.  We had a good laugh.  Juanita took it home and processed it, taking all the seeds and skin out.

Leave a Reply

