Walking Sticks

IMG_0070My favorite thing to do in Smokey House right now is carving the walking sticks. I went into the woods and cut my walking stick down with a hand saw. Then I took it back to the building, and we all started peeling the bark off with a knife, then sanding, carving, and decorating them with twine and a wood burner. I can stay carving a walking stick for five days straight. I find it so much fun just sitting there carving it and making it look awesome and knowing that I’m gonna use it. I know there is something else to it, but I just can’t put my finger on it. It’s just the art of it, the relaxation; it’s almost like a meditative thing. It calms me.

Leave a Reply

