The Cider Making Process at Smokey House

This is me picking apples to help make the cider.
This is me picking apples to help make the cider.
This is me helping to make the cider by using the cider press.
This is me helping to make the cider by using the cider press.

Last Friday, here at Smokey House, it was quite an enjoyable one. There is a few processes of making cider. The first is picking the apples or obtaining them. I picked apples in the back of a cemetery down the road from Smokey House. At first we didn’t really see that many apples until we walked further into the back and saw more, at least 5-8 more trees and some of the apples were quite large back there. Robin had brought in a apple picker tool that a couple of students were using. It seemed hand picking the apples was much better then using the apple picker tool. Soon, we had been there forabout 2 hours and then realized it was time to leave. I felt it went by very fast. Then we came back and used two machine tools. These are the last couple steps in making cider. One took the apples and smooshed them into smaller peices. The second machine had a metal turner wheel that at first was used by hand and then once it got hard we had to use a hard wooden stick. Both machine tools are quite old, however they work just fine. I primally used the second machine. By this turning it put weight and force onto the apples so that  I primally used the second machine. The liquid (or of course, cider) from the apples got drained into a metal pot. On the site, Juanita got a tea cup and we all sampled the cider. The taste of it was great. I was happy to see that I could help create something that I initially thought would not possible for me. Another student also made apple sacse from the cider. To make the sacse I believe the student put it in a hot steaming pot at the stove and then warmed it up. They also used a kitchen aid machine. I enjoyed my time at Smokey House that day.

Leave a Reply

