First impressions

IMG_6358When I first heard about Y.A.P (Youth Agriculture Project) I was really excited to begin working with such WONDERFUL, accepting people, but it was sad when I heard we would only be working 3 days a week – Wednesday, Thursday, Friday. The first week we had worked on Saturday to go the Farmer’s Market, but we won’t do that anymore.

So being here really has made me very happy and looking forward to the next day. The first day we worked in the garden. I was shy because I only knew 1 person here, one of my best friends, but as the week went on I got less shy and made more friends.

Working in the garden is kind of nerve jumping because there is a lot of “poison parsnip” around Vermont, especially in the country. Working here has made me look very positive towards find a job and is helping me build up on my confidence level. I am very glad I had the opportunity to work here. Plus it will look good as a reference for when I am looking at other jobs in the future.  A co-worker here told me that when he first came here he didn’t know what he was getting into and when he looked at me smiling, he instantly felt welcome. That made me feel so happy to hear someone say that.YAP garden work

Leave a Reply

